Black Laxmi Nrusingha Pattachitra Painting

SKU: 00872

5,600.00 inc. GST

Only 1 left in stock

Select your delivery location (Calculate shipping cost)


Black Laxmi Nrusingha Pattachitra Painting. A serene design reminds a sense of both generosity as well as indignation. 

Patta means cloth and Chitra means painting, thus Pattachitra is the art of painting on a cloth. Which is an ancient practice of the state of Odisha. Using natural dye colors, motifs, patterns, and various designs it displays stories and life events of Hindu deities.

The sourcing and procurement of colors and materials are totally natural. Five colors white, red, yellow, green, black, are used to color the Picture. The white color is obtained by soaking, drying, and churning seashell, The obtained from a stone Hingula,  Haritlal stone (a local stone)used for yellow, Green is brought in from leaves and green stones, and black is gets from lampblack, or either from burning coconut shell.120 more colors are used by mixing of the above five main colors. The hair of, mouse, buffalo, and Keya roots are used to make the brush for the canvas. Then tied to a bamboo stick for the brush handle. The flower border on the painting makes it more noteworthy.

Three different forms of Lord Nrusingha are worshipped in Chakratirtha in Puri, Odisha. Known as Abhay Nrusigha, Chakra Nrusingha, and Laxmi Nrusingha. Abhay Nrusigha represents Lord Balabhadra, Chakra Nrusingha represents Goddess Subhadra, and Laxmi Nrusingha represents Lord Jagannatha. 

Laxmi Nrusingha is the fourth incarnation of Lord Vishnu, to save his devotee Prahlada from the clutches of his demon father, Hiranyakashyapa. His wife is Narasimhi (Goddess Laxmi). It is the first Archa Avatar of Lord Vishnu, among the Dasa AVatar. The first three avatars Masya, Kurma, and Varaha which born only for a specific purpose and disappear after executing the purpose. The three Archa Avatars in chronological order are Nrusingha, Ramachandra, and Krishna avatar. They are characterized by three specific Tattva, known as Adhara Tattva, Adhara Shakti. Adhara is the “element”, Adheya is the “purpose” and Adhara shakti is the “power” displayed by this avatar. For  Nrusingha, the Adhara Tattva was Brilliance, Wrathful, against the devil and pugnacious and compassionate for his devotee. 

He has attributed 74 forms relating to different postures and weapons in hand. The main 9 forms are called Nava Nrusingha: those are 
1. Ugra Nrusingha
2. Kroddha Nrusingha
3. Vira Nrusingha
4. Vilamba Nrusingha
5. Kopa Nrusingha
6. Yoga Nrusingha
7. Aghora Nrusingha
8. Sudarsana Nrusingha
9. Laxmi Nrusingha

He is seen with a human torso, and lower body, with a lion face and claws. Basically, he is in half man-half lion form. Holding a coach and Chakra in upper hands. The lower to gesture in Varada mudra and Abhay mudra. Laxmi sitting on his lap and a seven-headed serpent covers his hood over his head. 

Lord Nrusingha, not only besow wealth and success, but also ward off negative impacts from planets, and evil forces.As he incarnates to protect people from cruelties and establish dharma. A picture of him will, influence ones life towards liberation.

Care: Dusting should be done using a soft cloth. 

Additional information

Weight0.1 kg
Height: 18in    Width: 12in    Length: in
Art Form



Without Frame


Bind the art in a frame and hang on your office or home wall.


Wipe it with soft cloth